Meeting The Parents..Awkward

So I went to Biloxi, Mississippi for the first time with my boyfriend. We went to meet his parents for the first time. I’ve have never been so nervous in my life. I was having an anxiety attack the whole way there.  A million thoughts where going through my mind. “Oh My Gosh,What if they don’t like me?” ” “Am I dressed okay?” It was only an hour drive but it felt like eternityyy! We pull in the driveway and my stomach was doing flips as if I was on a roll coaster.

I hesitantly open the car door and get out the car. My boyfriend walks to the front door, and I staggered behind him.  My boyfriend’s father opens the door and give me a big “Hello” and a hug. At this point, some of the nerves are starting to easy off.We walk in and that’s when I meet his mother. She smiled and  a gives me a big hug. She began to ask me basic questions like where I from? My career goals, etc you know topical my mom questions. We sit down at the dinner table and his dad had cooked a five course meal.Well at least it seem like it. I’ve a college kid who has been living off ramen noodles and Taco Bell so any cooked food is top of the line to me.

Fresh out the oven, here comes the hot steamy macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, and my favorite homemade chicken Alfredo. I was in heaven. It was even better than it looked. The conversation beginning to flow between all of us. Before you know it we were laughing and talking and I felt so at easy almost as if I was at home.  Before you know it this conversation turned in to a 4 hour conversation. I couldn’t believe it.It felt like more like 15 minutes.

This weekend was a great experience. As my boyfriend would say, “I was nervous for nothing.” But I guess he’s right. (Just this one time though) I truly had an amazing weekend. And the food was just like something out of a magazine. I definitely took a plate home. I can’t wait too go back to Mississippi aka my second home.I hope you enjoyed my story/blog and I can’t wait to blog to you guys next week.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

